Naughty Post

Your body is making a powerful drug

Sex is way better than drugs, and I consider a dominant/submissive relationship the absolute ultimate way of making love. More about that later. And the body makes it’s own drugs given the right amount of pain: endorphins. Endorphins are small neuropeptides that are produced by the body and act to reduce pain—hence, the name endorphin (a shortened version of endogenous morphine). The term “enkephalin” (meaning literally “in the head”) is also applied to endorphins, but usually refers to smaller molecules that have pain-relieving properties.

Increasing pain mix with pleasure until pleasure takes over. Pain and pleasure become one, my loved one described it. I don’t like pain very much – a wimp I think – but I’ve seen it many times. You just have to pay attention to your partner, and that is something that comes naturally. There are at least 20 different kinds of endorphins, and one kind, beta-endorphins, are stronger than morphine. So we are talking heavy stuff, here.

Endorphins are produced as a response to certain stimuli, especially stress, fear or pain. They originate in various parts of your body — the pituitary gland, your spinal cord and throughout other parts of your brain and nervous system — and interact mainly with receptors in cells found in regions of the brain responsible for blocking pain and controlling emotion.

Pain or pleasure?
I remember a movie, don’t know the title anymore, and these two gentleman placed  a bet. I bet you can’t see the difference in a face of a woman when she is having an orgasm or when she cries out in pain. They can only see the head of the two girls. One is fucked, the other one is whipped. The one that was fucked got a head start. I remember the guy saying “pleasure takes longer than pain”. And after a while the camera shows us the two faces. “I can’t see the difference.”, he said. Strange how these scenes are etched in your mind.

Adrenaline and Endophins

OK, I read a lot about an endorphin rush and also of a adrenaline rush. Now I’m at it, I want to go to the bottom of this pain/pleasure thing.

Adrenaline is a hormone and is a “fight or flight” hormone which is released from the adrenal glands when danger threatens or in an emergency. When secreted into the bloodstream, it rapidly prepares the body for action in emergency situations. The hormone boosts the supply of oxygen and glucose to the brain and muscles, while suppressing other non-emergency bodily processes (digestion in particular). 


Ah, endorphins are released as a result of the pain, adrenaline can be released by simply the prospect of pain, or humiliation or whatever triggers you. 

I do hope someone will enter “subspace” with the letter S. I am so looking forward to that post.

Visit some of the other bloggers participating in the A-Z Blogging Challenge as well! (follow the link in the right sidebar or Han’s selection of today:)  I may not respond to all the blogs in the challenge every day, but I will to those underneath, these are the six I recommend today:

http://www.linkytools.com/basic_linky_include.aspx?id=233208

6 thoughts on “E = Endorphins

  1. A good blog post again .

    But …
    (sorry , but I just have to question .. lol .. There is so much to question and discuss. And I love good diskussion.Jag hope you do not mind . This is the way my brain works … ) .

    My brain has always understood this as fact but my heart has never understood this as reality.

    I think there are people who get turned on pain as such and all that you wrote to these people . When I would give birth to my first child, so have a midwife told me that there are women who give birth to their children in orgsm of pain .. do not ask me how I answered .. lol ..
    But there is the other group .. who can not even mention the words “pain” and ” nice feeling” in the same sentence. For that there is no connection between them. Either you have pain or not. Either it feels good or not .

    Hmmm … which group is the normal group ? .. lol ..

    I work with pain on my job. I have seen so much pain and suffering during my 25 years . Where was the endorphins then? The only thing that could be offered was Morphine, thankfully.

    Mona Lisa

    Like

  2. Hmm, I hesitate to use your first name like I'm used to. In the Netherlands we have this gossip magazine and a ” Ask Mona” column where you can ask stupid questions. That's so not you and therefore I will use your full name, Mona Lisa, the girl with the mystery smile.

    So Mona Lisa, I understand your comment very well. And you are so right about patients in pain and needing morfine. It's not a secret we are acquinted with the pain you are talking about as well. Our daughter is in a wheelchair a lot of the time.

    However when the pain builds gradually with pleasure my wife describes the feeling as “floating”, ” unfocused” and pleasureable. I blame the endorphines. It must have to do something with arousal, or her state of mind I don't know how it works exactly either. The only thing I do know is that it actually happens, because I've seen it.

    Thank you for your useful comments.

    Like

  3. What an interesting and well researched post. I remember using a tens machine in labor, the electric pulses are designed to release, endorphins and give natural pain relief. (Great up to a point, then give me drugs!) What I didn't realise was the link to morphine. Or that it was like the body's natural morphine. Mona Lisa raised an interesting question, maybe one day medical science will find an answer that will improve the lives of those who suffer through capitalising on their body's natural hormones more completely.

    Like

  4. I don't know what is the general accepted rules as to childbirth, Dutch women like to have their baby born in their own home. The general attitude here is that getting a baby is a natural process and if all else fails you go to hospital. It took my beloved 24 hours before we ended up in hospital anyway. Women as a rule are a lot stronger then man are.

    Like

Leave a Reply

