In 1960 I lived in the house on the far right behind the small windows on the second floor. My parents had one room there looking over the canal in Delft. The toilet was in the hall and had to be shared with another family. There was no shower in the house, once a week we would go to the “bathhouse” to take a bath. Two small steep stairs lead to the second floor. On the first floor lived the owner. And she didn’t care much for crying children. So my mum walked a lot with me in my pram, a beautiful “English” pram she was very proud of. They have bought the pram on instalments and payed every week the shop owner a small amount.

My father was a delivery man and brought the parcels of all kinds to an address in Delft and it’s surroundings. My mum was a full time mother. Those living conditions were not uncommon in those days. A young couple rented a room somewhere and saved enough to buy or rent a bigger place. In these old houses the plumbing was old and showers were not standard in those days. In the summer of 1960 my mum was pregnant of her second child, that was due in March 1961. It was a cool year, the average temperature in 1960 in Delft was 9,6 degrees Celsius.

The young couple felt the stress of having another child on the way, complaining neighbours about the noise and a job that didn’t pay very well. My father never was attached to any job so he went job hunting in 1960.

This is what my pram must have looked like:

12 thoughts on “MCMLX What happened in Han’s life?

  1. Wow! Love the pram. There are four children in my family. The oldest was bor in June1963 and the youngest was born January 1967. A lot of little kids living in a very small house. The first house they bought was sold to them for $3200.00. There house is now worth about half a million – location, location, location!

    Like

  2. This house was sold a few years ago for 300.000 euro. That is the equivalent of 660.000 Dutch guilders. Rent was in 1960 20 guilders a. Week, expensive in those days.
    We had almost bought a replica of that pram for our daughter. In the end. We decided for a modern pram,
    Thank you so much for your comment,

    Han

    Like

  3. I love the pram and learning about your neighbourhood as a young Han. Your post inspires me to do something similar.

    I just learned yesterday that the drug store in my childhood neighbourhood is moving two blocks west. It is practically an institution where it still is, having been there well before little CB was born.

    Like

  4. Lovely post, Han .
    Think, how life standards had changed since then…
    When I was born we still used coal to heat the apartment and warm water and we lived in a two room flat My parents and 3 children and it was ok for all…

    Take care,
    ML

    Like

  5. Great post again, Han. Yes life in our region has become much more comfortable for most of us. And we take it all for granted.

    I am looking firward to your next post.

    appy

    Like

  6. Yes, we have changed in time and you only realize it on moments like this, looking back.
    A two room flat huh? Our daughter was born in a two room flat. She spend the first year or so in our bedroom…

    Grin,

    Han

    Like

  7. Lovely post Han…I enjoy hearing about other countries and cultures. I loved my great-grandparents but hated visiting them because they only had an outhouse and baths were taken in the kitchen in front of the stove with water pumped and heated on the stove. My great-grandfather said it had always been good enough for them so why change and he refused to install an indoor toilet bathing room. šŸ˜€

    Hugs and Blessings…
    Cat

    Like

  8. Thank you, Cat. Washing in front of the sink is something I remember so that was a few years later not changed very much. I only remember my Mum's stories about those days. The fact that if I started crying the neighbour below would hit the ceilinf with a broomstick was a big stress factor that year.

    On to 1961…

    Han

    Like

Leave a Reply

