Sometimes it’s good to fight for the things you stand for.
Victoria’s Secret, queen of underwear, launched a campaign with the title “The Perfect Body”:
Original Ad
Three women Frances Black, Gabriella Kountourides & Laura Ferris thought that every body whatever shape and size was perfect, so they started a petition. Today they informed the signatories that they were succesful: Victory Secret didn’t apologize, but did change their ad to:


A wonderful result for these three ladies who fought against a giant.
Victoria’s Secret changed the wording online, and in stores they took down posters bearing the original wording. A perfect example that taking a stand for something you think is important can really help.
6 thoughts on “Body shaming

  1. Sure do wish I looked as good as any of those bodies! But am very happy that Victoria's Secret changed the wording. Thanks for sharing.

    Hugs and Blessings…
    Cat

    Like

  2. Thanks to the wonderful ladies I mentioned in the post, afraid of public opinion. Body shaming has been going on for years now, and every attempt to stop it can count on my sympathy.

    Thanks for taking the time to read Cat,

    Han

    Like

  3. I am so glad they changed their ad. I hate ads that make me feel that just because I am older and not as svelt as I used to be I should be ashamed of my body. This was a good result.

    Hugs
    Ami

    Like

  4. I feel very strongly about body shaming of women. If you look around in the street, the women in the ads are not there. People don't look like that. People are good as they are. Any company especially a big one like this Victoria stuff should make an example in the good way!

    But then again I'm a feminist,
    Han

    Like

Leave a Reply

