Gabriel Metzu, Pieter de Hoogh, Gerrit Dou, Frans van Mieris, all painters in the 17th century in the Netherlands painted more than 100 paintings. Rembrandt, Frans Hals and Jan van Goyen made hundreds of paintings and etches. The latter made over a thousand paintings….

Vermeer made roughly 35 paintings, that scholars agree upon that are his. That would mean 2 or 3 a year. A big contrast with his fellow painters is hardly possible. Because we don’t know much about Vermeer there is a lot of speculation why he painted so few works. Some say because his standards were so high, it would take him a long time to reach the level of perfection he achieved in his paintings. Some say because it was of Vermeers vision of art that made him restrict to works that showed thematic interventions and technical findings in his work.
Whatever reason (perhaps he was so successful in his art trading he had little time to paint), underneath is a little video with all the Johannes (Jan) Vermeer works.

8 thoughts on “I = Images of all Vermeers paintings

  1. I do enjoy Vermeer's paintings but really hadn't realized how few he had painted in comparison to his contemporaries. Thanks for sharing, Han.

    Hugs and blessings…Cat

    Like

  2. Just love Vermeer's paintings. I remember fondly an independent study I took in school. We looked at many of his works. It's been a long time, but I may go see if I can find my books to look at his work again!

    Like

  3. That is the idea, Rebel… I think paintings are to be enjoyed, the ones I don't like I don't spend any time on, but the ones I like I can look like forever and see different things each time.

    Thank you so much for reading,
    Han

    Like

Leave a Reply

