I think I’ve posted this before, but when we were last week in Driebergen (see Google maps location under this post) we saw this and I said to my loved one:
I want to reproduce this in our garden:

It just made me think of the poem by John ‘O Mill in Dutch, I will translate as best as I can:

In Conneticut
in een waterput
verdronk mijn tante Eefje
nog jaren later
dronk m’n oom ‘t water
uitsluitend door een zeefje.

In Connecticut
in a draw-well
drowned my aunt Eefje
even years later
my uncle refused to drink the water

that wasn’t poured through a strainer.

4 thoughts on “Well drawn

  1. I love the mini wishing well, Han. In the neighborhood where I grew up, the man next door built one in his front yard, planted with flowers and placed his house number on it. It was beautiful.

    Hugs and blessings…Cat

    Like

Leave a Reply

