My Wanita got an unlimited cinema card some months ago and I decided to have one as well. So this month I bought a card, 19 euro a month and you can see movies in the cinema unlimited. As much as you can eat, oh now, as much as you can see. We decided to go one a week to the cinema together and we would see two movies. It’s a relatively a cheap way of holiday entertainment and as this is an all you can see card, we see the movies we wouldn’t go to otherwise.

So yesterday I saw Genius. An interesting film about the writer Thomas Wolfe (Jude Law) and his editor  Maxwell Perkins (Colin Firth). My wife chose the film because of Colin
Firth, I was curious of Thomas Wolfe.

I understand it’s difficult to explain what the role of an editor is in a book. And there is a scene in the film where Perkins says to Wolfe: “Is this book better because I edited it or is it just a different book, and should we not have edited it at all, because the original was as it should be? That is what we editors lie awake at night.”
I think that captures the essence of the dilemma of the editor. I like the movie very much. The movie is played at an old cinema in The Hague and there was the audience was so quiet you could hear a pin drop. That is amazing considering the amount of coughs in The Concertgebouw in Amsterdam…

So, I wouldn’t start reading a book by Thomas Wolfe if I had not seen this film. And that’s one of the advantages of such a card. Between Inferno and Jack Reacher there is a Genius.

9 thoughts on “Genius

  1. Wow…wish we had something similar around here…would love to be able to watch multiple movies for one monthly price. Thanks for the review of Genius…have seen trailers for it and it looks as if it would be a good movie.

    Hugs and blessings…Cat

    Like

  2. Oh I wish we could have the opportunity to buy such a card…what a wonderful idea. We would be able to see many more movies. Thanks for the review, I will put it on my 'movie suggestions' list.
    hugs abby

    Like

  3. Thomas Wolfe is an intense writer, I get lost in the words.

    As with abby such a card would be wonderful, we would see many more movies instead of restricting our outings to ones on the 'must see' list. I think I'll be adding this one to mine.

    Like

  4. You know Abby, it's a good way to be out of the house, doing something nice together and pay only a fixed price a month. The only extra costs are a cup of latte macchiato somewhere on a terrace in the autumn sun…

    Han

    Like

  5. Is there a Swedish translation of the book Mona Lisa? He only wrote two books I think. I think you will enjoy it more in Swedish, like Leigh said I think it's easy to get lost somewhere in the English version. I think of reading it in Dutch first.

    Smile, nice to give you idea's…
    Han

    Like

Leave a Reply

